Specs: p4 3Ghz celeron, gigabyte mobo, 512mb Ram, 80gb HDD.

Problem: continual short beeps from mobo. Not starting up.

Solution(or my mistakes): the inner technician screams out mobo reset which usually involves changing a jumper setting on your mobo(now some maybe going wtf but with magic of google you can turn that wtf into umm interesting…) Simply put, pins are shorted(bridged) by placing a jumper(small, very small plastic rectangle) over them, usually one looks for the words cmos clear/reset physically printed on mother board.

Tried clear but still beeping so I’m thinking must be faulty RAM module. Did not have one with me.

Note: I broke a major tenant that exists in most if not all professions, I panicked – DO NOT PANIC and wanting the client to see results, I took my common sense out of gear and started fiddling with the power supply unit. I shifted the red switch that controls what voltage is accepted by the psu, from 220V to 110V and proceeded to power on device. I can still hear the fizz of what I hopefully think is just a fuse.

Death.

Shit, I just fried a clients power supply and maybe their entire system!

END of Day1

Returned with a ram module and a replacement psu from a spare machine but, thank God, still continual beeping.
Something I always tell people but have failed to exercise in this task, “READ THE MANUAL!” Or google, if you prepared to ask almost the right questions and work towards your right answer. Quick look up revealed that beep code related to power to mobo. I aspire one day to develop skills so that I may work with technology on a deeper level but for now its easier for me to replace mobo with my spare.

From there things moved along quickly.

End of Day2

Some days in between, remember I’m working for free but striving for a quality service.

Completed xp install, driver setup and basic apps: vlc player for media, imgburn for burning(copying dvd’s, image creation, etc.) And virus prevention, turn off Autostart feature.

Job complete.

Recommendations to client: get an active UPS to prevent power problems, cheap upgrades: min 2GB RAM upgrade and eventually save towards an entry level gfx card, LCD monitor and larger storage. Consider switching to free linux.

Lessons I learned: NEVER DO Something just so you can avoid telling the client it cannot be fixed now. Always read the manual or get relevant online information. Be honest and fair with client.

I feel my turn around time on that job was too long, will need to improve on that, second must be prepared with appropriate tools and test equipment.

350w p4 psu (standard on most home pc’s in the last +- 8years)

ddr2 ram module (but I will need more types, especially for older machines)

Dvd drive ide/sata for boot disks(but planning to use usb boot disks)

I can continue to list needed parts, actually I would think in the world of IT repair even the kitchen sink is never enough…

Please provide feedback via commenting.

I look forward to maybe repairing your pc and educating you about current technologies and best practices.

